Hello! I’m Kelsey and I’m in the middle of my first semester at college. Honestly, it’s been a dream come true. Right now I’m only taking two courses, one of which hasn’t even started yet, and it’s been a blast to say the least. My professor is friendly, I’ve connected with two new friends, the library is absolute heaven, and being able to finally get out of the house brings me so much joy.

It’s taken a long time to get to this point. There have been a lot of bumps in the road, most due to chronic illness, but now that I’m with a doctor who is implementing treatment that actually makes me feel better I’m able to pursue my interests in earnest! Right now, I’m looking into freelance writing as a way of making a little cash as well. How awesome would it be to write about my interests and be paid for it as well? It’d help build skills I need for the classes I plan on taking in the future, too.

I’m going to a good community college to major in science and hopefully transfer to George Mason once I clear the agreement guidelines. Science has always been my beloved, art and I cycle through love and hate frequently, and writing is a nice niche to cover both aspects. Specifically, I love biology and health sciences the most – you never know, though, maybe I’ll become a physics nerd and get a doctorate in quantum mechanics – and I’m aiming for a career in one of those subjects. Art is something I’ve always held close to my heart. I went through a brief, couple month period where I wanted to GO PRO, however besides that instance it’s always been a hobby of mine.

The college I’m at right now is great! I think the most important skill I’ve maintained to succeed so far is self-motivation. My current class is a “hybrid” Intro to Communications course (meaning half in-class, half online). It’s an incredibly interesting study and I hardly mind the 25 page per week textbook reading because, let’s be honest, it’s fascinating. I’m always interested in people and to take a course in talking and reading them as something else. It feels like a mix of psychology, philosophy, and existential study all combined into a 16 week entree. In addition to an interesting class, I made a couple of friends there too!

Everything’s like a dream, to be honest. Not everything is sunshine and rainbows; that’s just not how chronic illness works, but I will take anything I can get at this point. My brain is starved for stimulation and this is the best opportunity I could ask for.

As for the point of this blog… I think it’s the best way to get going on writing right now. I won’t do pure stream of consciousness writing, but personal entries probably will pop in and maybe art too. Maybe I’ll write about my research, a documentary I watched or a book I read. To be honest, I don’t really know! I only know that the best place to start is with a good first post about my current state of being, and I believe I have achieved that just fine.

